The Last Sleeveface Challenge

Okay, I admit that I only heard about sleevefacing like a couple of months ago. If you don’t know, and I think that’s a small club by now, Sleevefacing is a current craze flourishing on Myspace (and Facebook etc) wherein one holds the 12 x 12 inch cardboard vinyl album sleeve over their head or face, creating some often fascinating results.

There’s already a book coming out and more than one website. Here’s a sleeveface with John Coltrane in it (from the Sleevefacing site):

credit: Wilma Hurskainen / Martti Mela (found on www.sleeveface.com)

The Sleeveface site gives the following official definition: One or more persons obscuring or augmenting any part of their body or bodies with record sleeve(s) causing an illusion

According to an article on BBC News website, the craze began in a bar in Cardiff, when John Rostron, a Welsh club DJ with a big vinyl collection, started holding up the cardboard sleeves as he rocked da house and the thing caught on with a lot of people who started posting their Sleeveface shots up on YouTube and Facebook(etc).

Most of my vinyl is in storage but I have some 12 inch CD box sets around, so (until I get my vinyl back, or grow a CD sized head) here’s my humble first foray in Sleeveface culture:

That’s me with the Rykodisc Elvis Costello Box Set.

Now the fun part, the first and LAST SLEEVEFACE CHALLENGE!

Please send your own Sleevefacings to my email address pulmyears [at] gmail [dot] com and I’ll post some of the less rude or vulgar ones here in a future posting.

Get ‘facing.

One Response to “The Last Sleeveface Challenge”

  1. Rebecca Stevenson Says:

    LOL! I love these.
    I’m totally going to send you one…just give me a few days.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,248 other followers

