Now THAT’S What I Call Deconstruction!

When I was a kid, it was all about The Beatles.

Then, as a teenager in my first band, I had moved into the Led Zeppelin years of my life (immediately prior to the Punk and New Wave era where I first became a performer).

I have long conceptualized about a band that plays the early Beatles “beat group” material in the psychedelic style of the later period Beatles. Inverseley, to take the Pepper era Fabs and return the songs to their nascent “beat group” era sound. That day will come, I promise, but for now let’s go back to the Beatles and Zeppelin being a big part of my early listening.

Conceptually speaking, what if we combined the Beatles and Zeppelin?

Which brings me to a clip that my friend Blair Packham just forwarded to me, of the Australian Beatles cover band called The Beatnix, doing a distinctly Fabbish take on Zeppelin’s “Stairway To Heaven”

Now that’s what I call Deconstruction. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Now THAT’S What I Call Deconstruction!”

  1. That’s a really good version of the most annoying song from the ’70’s and I was grateful that they didn’t include the original long winded solo. I’d say it’s the second best version I’ve ever heard. The best I ever heard was from “some guy” in the ’80’s at a club called the Cabana Room. He did a reggae interpretation. It was not only very musical, but absolutely hilarious. I wish that person would post a recording of it. I think that he still plays sometimes, though I understand that he writes books nowadays.

  2. Damn it Paul. Now I have the original version stuck in my head.

  3. Now that is hilarious! Love it!

Leave a Reply

