How Now Soundcloud?

I was doing some web-vestigation about musicians blogs and I noticed that Moby had a SoundCloud box embedded on the journal at site. Then I saw that Ted Leo used a lot of it on his site too. The name rang a bell as did their trademark waveform graph thingy, so I decided to check it out.

According to the SoundCloud website, their platform lets “you move music fast & easy” and “takes the daily hassle out of receiving, sending & distributing music for artists, record labels & other music professionals.”

I read somewhere that this could finally knock Myspace out, as far as being useful for bands making tracks available, something I’ve been curious about for a while.

Watch SoundCloud’s three-minute video introduction:

As you can see, it’s a pretty nice looking format (the Australian accent helps I think).

There’s a SoundCloud blog and  also the official SoundCloud tumblelog run by David Noel.

I guess all they do is listed on their site, so do go and read it all for yourself. I like their graphic simplicity, including the selection of what they call “Arty Widgets” to embed.

click on this for more info

And they offer Private File sharing options too, which is useful for…anyone really. So check it all out at their site. Do let me know what you think of all of this, as always, in the Comments section of My blog.

Leave a Reply

