Gil Scott-Heron: The Revolution Will Be On YouTube

Maybe it’s because I’m in New York as I type this. More likely it’s because I just read got around to reading, on the flight from San Francisco, Rob Fitzpatrick’s excellent Gil Scott-Heron piece in the February issue of The Word. Whatever the reason, Gil Scott-Heron’s words, grooves and vibes seem to echo beneath my sneakers as I pound the cracked and scarred pavements of Manhattan. As such, I just got around to actually buying a copy of I’m New Here, Heron’s stunning new album on XL Recordings. Apparently, you can stream it here courtesy The Word and or The Guardian.

Here’s a couple of YouTube clips for stuff from the new album.

Here’s “Me And The Devil”

And this is “New York Is Killing Me”

“I’ll Take Care Of You”


If you don’t know Gil, here’s a couple of must hear/see tunes/jams from the past…

I’ll never forget when Richard Pryor hosted SNL and introduced Gil doing “Johannesburg”

Here’s “The Bottle”

Here’s “Whitey On The Moon”

Here’s “Lady Day And John Coltrane”

Here’s an awesome live take on his Reagan meditation, “B-Movie”

And finally, Gil’s best known jam, “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”


One Response to “Gil Scott-Heron: The Revolution Will Be On YouTube”

  1. Fuckin’ love Gil Scott Heron. I remember seeing him for the first time on SNL back in the 70’s. he did Johannesburg and he blew me away. I’ve been a life long fan ever since.

Leave a Reply

