Give Tweets A Chance: The Death of Lennon and Childhood In 14 Tweets

I was in the Edge (the premier punk club in Toronto) on that fateful night. I was in the men’s room and someone told me they shot Lennon.

I didn’t think they meant “shot dead” so we laughed because a few of us, at the time, thought Double Fantasy wasn’t edgy enough.

I’m ashamed to say, I probably made some snide “serves him right for that MOR album” comment. Be kind to me though, I was a stupid kid

I was a little concerned though, so I left The Edge and went over to Atlanta Variety And Gift, where they had Monday Night Football on TV

I didn’t want to interrupt the Greeks watching football, but I said “Hey, did you hear anything about John Lennon being shot?

The greek guy behind the counter looked at me like I’d asked him for underage cigarettes. “Lennon? What?,” he said, “Oh that guy’s dead”

To be fair, I don’t think this guy knew that he’d just ended my childhood. Lennon meant nothing to him. But I now knew Lennon was dead.

I walked back over to The Edge club and told my friends the grim news about Lennon. They didn’t seem appropriately stunned. I was pissed

Later, when it sunk in, a few of us went back to a friends house and stayed up all night, listening to Marsden on CFNY, playing Lennon songs

I was still living at home, and after the all night Lennon vigil, I had just got to bed when my dad walked in to wake me up.

My dad was from Liverpool and knew how much the Beatles and Lennon had meant to me. “Son,” he said, waking me, “are you up?”

My dad stood above me, I was hungover, “Wake up son, John Lennon’s been killed” It was like he was telling me that a family member had died.

Dad looked like it was killing him to tell me Lennon was gone. “I know dad,” I said, my eyes fused with sleep glue, “We stayed up all night”

“Oh,” said Dad, relieved but obviously still shaken, “The bastard shot him”. I sighed and we mourned in silence, the way men often do.

Waking up, hours later, I joined the world in mourning Lennon, a little colder and feeling like Childhood was over.

10 Responses to “Give Tweets A Chance: The Death of Lennon and Childhood In 14 Tweets”

  1. Doug Catty Says:

    Our generation lost the leader who could have altered the last thirty years of the right wing running slipshod over the vulnerable and peaceful. Lennon gave a concert for peace in Toronto in 1970. Now Toronto holds the G20 police debacle and Don Cherry’s rant in city council.

  2. I remember the shock of the moment. I think it was while watching Johnny Carson on TV.
    On the wall of my bedroom I had a small photo i’d ripped out of Rolling Stone magazine, of the revitalized Lennon in the studio, playing a funny futuristic-looking guitar. I had sort of moved beyond the Beatles and childhood, i thought, but this image really got me excited about the possibility of going forward, into the future with some New Stuff.
    The only other pop star death I’ve ever been truly sad about was Syd Barrett’s. I always expected he might come back too!

    By the way Mr Myers, I just want to tell you what a fun and engrossing read this Todd In the Studio book is, so far. Quite a labor of love! Hooray!

  3. i was 19 when lennon died my then husband told me lennon had been shot the nxt morning it was a very sad day i remember listening to the radio all day i still have the toronto sun newspaper article and i own a copy of the famous rolling stone mag w/ john and yoko on it irecently bought 4 of the lennon remasters his legacy still lives on. peace

  4. I guess artists don’t get to choose what records are their last before they die but, yeah Double Fantasy was one weak record. Although I thought the Yoko tracks were real good. Milk and Honey was also quite forgettable. But who cares from Instant Karma to #9 Dream Lennon made some real great rock and Roll records.

    • I coulda mention that I was with you Dan, that night, but it was a conceptual thing to make it a bunch of brief cartoon captions in this blog.
      But I remember it well. Tony Malone was there too, Stafford Street by the park.

  5. damon hines Says:

    My friend Danny and I arrived home from I don’t know where and turned on the All-Night Show…Chuck (Chas Lawther informed us of Lennon’s assassination, and we sat up all night, mute and scarcely able to absorb the enormity of the fact…it took me years, really…saw McCartney closing SNL this past wknd….woke just in time to catch “Day In The Life”…nice gesture, but little more I thought, missing Lennon’s passionate fusion w/ a song, w/ the unassailable conviction that he could reach, and connect, with anyone who was really willing to listen, and hope, and reach out and connect in turn.

  6. Lisa Pahl Says:

    I was working at Tower Records in Stockton, California that night on the 3-midnight shift. Stunned doesn’t even begin to capture how I felt when we learned what had happened. We had just received our shipment of Double Fantasy a few days earlier and had stacks of it on the floor. All night long we played Lennon and Beatles music and people gathered there to be around other people who might understand how devastated they were. We sold out of all our Lennon catalog that night (except what we had opened behind the counter). Double Fantasy was sold out by the next day.

Leave a Reply

