Crawdaddy Gets Pasted, Baldry on E, Wizard’s Big In Japan, & Other Loose Ends

LOOSE ENDS

Liza and I attended a taping of Late Night With Jimmy Fallon in May, 2011.

HELLO THERE!  If you follow this blog, and my thanks if you do, you’ll note that I often forget I have a blog. Blame Twitter, blame Facebook, blame my parents, blame the fact that I gots to gets paid now and then… Anyway, thanks for coming back to the well. Especially you, Dan.

As for that getting paid thing, you may want to check out some of my articles for web publications. Here’s the good news bad news about some of that: I was recently told by the fabulous Crawdaddy editor Angela Zimmerman that they will sadly cease to exist as a page of their own. They are now part of the Paste Magazine juggernaut, and all the pieces I did for them will be archived on their site here: http://www.crawdaddyarchive.com/  I believe if you type “Paul Myers” in the search there, you’ll find all the stuff I did for Crawdaddy, including some of my own favourite feature interviews with Daryl Hall, XTC’s Andy Partridge, Yes/King Crimson’s Bill Bruford, Liam Finn and my Canadian homeboys, Sloan. I think they’ll also have my record reviews for Sloan, Robyn Hitchcock and more. So at least my work will be available there, so that’s not a bad thing.

Losing Crawdaddy proper is a drag, but especially because Angela was one of the best and nicest editors I ever worked for, and I really liked writing stuff for her. Hopefully, this business being what it is, we’ll work on something together in the future. Happy Trails Angie!

Then, self-preservation kicked in and I wondered if Paste needed a great writer! Or me. Well, so far so good, as I recently contributed this Fountains of Wayne interview to Paste’s new mPlayer online magazine.

BALDRY’S OUT, IN KINDLE FORM!

Also in the electronic realm, I recently received word that D&M Publishers in Vancouver, BC, has made my 1997 book, It Ain’t Easy: Long John Baldry And The Birth Of The British Blues available as an “e-title” for the Amazon Kindle. No word on whether that means it’s available for iPad too. I’ll admit I don’t really know how that works, myself. All I know, is that a title that I’m extremely proud of is still accessible to anyone who needs to read about an unsung hero of the UK blues rock movement of the late 50s/early 60s. A book for which Cameron Crowe said “Paul Myers’s masterful book is a roller-coaster through the era, complete with all its chaos, glory and fortune. Rock on, and turn it up!” and Andrew Loog Oldham said “Paul Myers taps the source to reveal the bittersweet truth about the passionate, undisciplined, caring and often crazed world of our beloved John.” Thanks guys.

COOL PRAISE FROM THE UNCOOL

And speaking of Cameron Crowe, I once again received kind words from him in an interview on his own blog The Uncool: The Official Website For All Things Cameron Crowe. This time he’s talking about my Todd Rundgren book:

INTERVIEWER: You’ve mentioned Todd Rundgren as someone you didn’t want to like, but couldn’t help yourself…

CROWE: You touch on something that is one of the great things about loving bands, music or movies. Sometimes the ones you love the most are the ones that began by you arguing so aggressively with your friends that the group or the song is shit. It’s like something that kind of irks you ultimately can become the very thing that you cannot get enough of. It’s true in life too with relationships for sure.

Because of an album cover or a photo I’d seen, Todd seemed like an irksome dude. He had a smirk on his face. He had such a self-appreciative presentation that made me want to be the guy who said, “I don’t want to get it.” Of course now, I crave Todd Rundgren and I will forever. The YouTube performances of Todd, I mean I’ve lost entire days going through ‘em. (laughs) I think I’ve over-tweeted this issue with Paul Myers too. Paul wrote a great book on Todd (A Wizard. A True Star: Todd Rundgren In The Studio). There are a lot of songs and people that begin that way in your life. It’s the best cycle, it’s fandom.”

Thank you very, very much Cameron, I consider you a mentor at this point!

BIG IN JAPAN: IT’S TODDZILLA!

And thanks to Keiko, my Japanese Todd fan friend in Tokyo, I recently sent pics of the new Japanese edition of my book A Wizard A True Star: Todd Rundgren In The Studio.

Here’s an end-cap display for it at Tower Records/Books in Shibuya (Tokyo).

And she also told me, probably because Todd was over there playing, that my book was the  NUMBER ONE BEST SELLER in its category on the Amazon Japan.

So that’s cool. I love Japan.

WILLOWDALE REUNION: PAUL MEETS RUSH

And finally, through some awesome connections with some very nice people, I was able to get backstage at a recent Rush show at the Sleep Train Pavilion in Concord, California (a short drive north east of San Francisco). It’s important to note that when I was 16 years old, my very first band, Nighthawk, used to cover Rush songs (alongside KISS, BTO, Grand Funk and Led Zeppelin and our nascent “originals”). We rehearsed in the back room of the Advent Lutheran Church in Willowdale, the same suburban North Toronto neighbourhood where Rush had formed a bit before our time.

I took my friend John Elliott along, and it was gratifying to give my “plus one” to genuine fan who really got into it. We got to have informal chats with Alex Lifeson and Geddy Lee after the show, but also posed for the formal “Fan Lineup Shots” too. Here’s one. Note: I’m the silverhead grinning like the 16 year old I had become.

Gotta go now, I have a paying gig to finish. I’ll try to write more often, othewise, see you on Twitter: @pulmyears

Leave a Reply

